papa didn’t preach (though he’s an ordained minister)

23 Feb

to my very own surprise, i had a really wonderful phone conversation with my father just a bit ago, and really…it touched me dearly. from previous blogs, my father is a renown dumb dog and has been an enemy of this blog since it’s conception, but for the first time EVER, great words will be spoken about him here.

my father called me after receiving the birthday card that i made and sent him. he told me how fantastic it was, and then segued into this avenue of forgiveness. he apologized for previous treatment, and he told me how wonderful i was as a writer, daughter and individual. of course he talked about god for a while (but let’s be honest, it isn’t a conversation with my father if god isn’t it), but it was all very emotionally stirring.

really, i’m happy to have him as a father. and at least for now, i’m confident in that can retool the relationship that we have now, and turn  into something more practical and more mutually beneficial.

my favorite thing that he said (which also brought me to tears): “sometimes, i wonder if anybody in this world loves me, and when i got your card… i knew that at least one person does.”

One Response to “papa didn’t preach (though he’s an ordained minister)”

  1. buttontap February 24, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    It made me so sad to think that he wonders if other people love him. It made me cry. I would hate to have a whole family and wonder if other people care.

Leave a Reply

