……another poem, instead of the writing I really should be focusing on.

15 Jul

 

Shared Experience, Chicago

 

 

Sometimes I would like to introduce you to my Chicago,

where we watch movies on bed sheets at night,

in the park,

while it is dark

and we pay no attention to the movie.

 

I would like to give you tours of the Shedd Aquarium,

the plantariaum,

the Museum of Science and Industry and the Field Museum.

 

I would take you for a swim, deep in the evening,

while most of city is sleeping.

We could roam those waves and then rest on the sand.

 

We could wander all those twenty miles down the lake front just

to indulge in one another’s company.

 

I want to take you for a kernel of Garret’s

Popcorn, a piece of Harold’s

Chicken and a slice of Eli’s

Cheesecake.

 

I would like to walk the magnificent mile with you.

 

I would take you to the Museum of Contemporary Art to talk to you

if I knew that you would talk back.

 

I would take you to Washington Park to experience the festivals and parades.

One Response to “……another poem, instead of the writing I really should be focusing on.”

  1. Natalie September 12, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    You are an amazing writer. Your words inspire me.

Leave a Reply

